Bridal Jewellery, Small Insect Themed Anarchy

I have always considered myself a small-scale anarchist. It is fun to break the tiniest unwritten rules in a purposeful, but almost entirely unnoticeable, way. Therefore, as I mentioned in a previous post, I will not be adhering to the pale and minimalistic traditional laws of bridal jewellery.

Here is my estimation. This looks like a lot of stuff, but bear in mind that it will be spaced out and I have a whole body between…

The earrings are my favourite, they are currently waiting for new hooks. The turquoise fly brooch is a good something blue and it belonged to my Grandma who RSVP’d affirmatively to our wedding but has since died; I am rather sad about that.

The heart shaped choker is rolled-gold with a small red bobble and is John’s favourite necklace because it looks like a hawthorn berry. The old looking stone pendant in a sterling silver filigree frame is a recent find and I like the shape. The long gold rope chain is properly scavenged treasure (solid 22ct, 50p) and a good yellow colour.

The thin gold bangle is 9ct and was also well scavenged (20p); finding gold like this makes me feel a bit like a pirate, but with marginally more morals. As a child I had a parrot for the same reason. The golden eagle bangle is not gold, but it is good. The large bangle is heavy solid bone from around the 1920s. Maybe it is odd to wear bone to a wedding, but it certainly is an intimate material and weddings are an ideal time to remember our insides.

I know that a bride should have bare fingers in preparation for a wedding ring, but bare fingers make me feel like I am in the bath, or very ill, or consciously about to get my hands dirty. I always wear too many rings, the ones above include amber, rose quartz, and a small antique gold bee-fly.

Insects for Men

You may think it odd for a groom to need jewellery, but John is an odd man. The small enamel bee, pictured below, he wears every day as a matter of course. The silver filigree butterfly I found last week and is quite a gentlemanly specimen anyway, and John is insistent that he must wear it. The purple rhinestone fly he has requested me to sew onto his sleeve.

Whether getting married or not, whether man or woman – you can find many similar, and also different, things to view or purchase in my SHOP.

You can find more pictures of stuff on FACEBOOK or TWITTER or PINTEREST

One thought on “Bridal Jewellery, Small Insect Themed Anarchy

  1. Pingback: Etruscan Revival & a Wedding – Hermit Gold

Leave a Reply

